Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
Note: Utah sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a concealed firearm permit (CFP).
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must be a Utah resident
- Valid for 5 years
- Costs $52 (+$Safety course +$Fingerprinting fee)
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must be a U.S. citizen
- Must have a concealed carry permit from your state of residence if your state has reciprocity with Utah – this is not required if your state does not recognize the Utah permit. Go here for more info.
- Valid for 5 years
- Costs $62 (+$Safety course +$Fingerprinting fee)
Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 18 years old and can legally possess a handgun may open carry an unloaded firearm. No permit is required in this case.
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Utah is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get a UT concealed firearm permit as a resident, you can apply in person or by mail to the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI).
- Print and complete a concealed firearm permit application online here.
- Complete a Utah BCI certified firearms familiarity course. Bring your application – the instructor needs to complete the certification information on your application.
- Find a BCI certified instructor here.
- Get a complete set of fingerprints taken from your local law enforcement agency. You’ll need 1 complete fingerprint card.
- Note: The fingerprints can be taken at the Utah BCI for $15. This is handy if you decide to submit your application in person.
- Get a color passport style photograph taken of yourself.
- Note: The photo can be taken at the Utah BCI for $15. This is handy if you decide to submit your application in person.
- Send the following items to the mailing address listed below to complete the application process:
- A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a BCI certified firearms course.
- A color passport style photograph of yourself from the past 30 days.
- A copy of your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- A completed fingerprint card.
- Application fee: A check or money order for $57 made payable to “Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation“.
After these steps are completed, the Department of Safety is legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, Utah 84129
To get a UT concealed firearm permit as a non-resident, you must submit the following items to BCI in addition to the above:
- A copy of your concealed carry permit from your state of residence.
- Note: This is only required if your state has reciprocity with Utah. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit, this is not required. Go here for more info.
- Your application fee will be $67 as opposed to $57 for residents.
Besides these differences, the application process is the same as above for residents.
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
If the applicant meets any of the following conditions, his/her application is almost guaranteed to be denied:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You’ve been convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol.
- You’ve been convicted of an offense involving the use of narcotics or a controlled substance.
- You’ve been convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Jails, prisons, or other correctional facilities.
- Indian reservations.
- Post offices.
- Hospitals or mental health facilities.
- Military bases.
- School grounds, including some colleges and universities.
- Houses of worship.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
- Anywhere it is posted that firearms are prohibited.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout UT
Whether you have a concealed carry permit or not, so long as you legally possess the handgun, you may transport a concealed loaded handgun on your person in a vehicle.
Additional Notes About UT Handgun Law
Does UT Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does UT Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does UT Recognize?
ALL – UT recognizes all other states’ concealed carry permits.
Reciprocity – Where is the UT Permit Recognized?
The UT concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:
- August 5, 2017 – Cost to apply updated from $37 to $57 (residents) and from $47 to $67 (non-residents).
- August 14, 2018 – Cost to apply updated from $57 to $52 and $67 to $62.