Page Last Modified: Mar 17, 2018 @ 2:02 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

1) Regular Permit

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Must reside in South Dakota for a minimum of 30 days
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $10

2) Gold Card Permit – No Longer Available

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Must reside in South Dakota for a minimum of 30 days
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $70
  • Exempt from background checks when purchasing firearms
  • Better reciprocity than the regular permit (1 additional state)

3) Restricted-Enhanced Permit

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Must reside in South Dakota for a minimum of 30 days
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $100 (+$Training Course)
  • Exempt from background checks when purchasing firearms
  • Best reciprocity (6 additional states)

4) Enhanced Permit

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside in South Dakota for a minimum of 30 days
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $100 (+$Training Course)
  • Exempt from background checks when purchasing firearms
  • Best reciprocity (6 additional states)

*See this flyer for a more detailed comparison of the permits.

Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 18 years old and can legally possess a firearm may open carry. No permit is required in this case. However, you may not carry in a vehicle without a concealed carry permit.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

South Dakota is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Regular Permit

To get a regular concealed carry permit in South Dakota, you are required to apply at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.

  1. Go to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence to complete the application process. Bring the following items:
    1. Your SD state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    2. Application fee: A check or money order for $10. The sheriff’s office will tell you who to make the check out to.
  2. After completing the application and presenting the items above, the sheriff’s office will complete a local statewide background check.

After these steps are completed, if accepted, the department processing the application will issue you a temporary permit in 5 days. After receiving the temporary permit, the sheriff will send a copy of your application to the South Dakota Secretary of State. The Secretary of State is then legally required to issue the official permit in 30 days or less. 

Enhanced Permit

To get an enhanced concealed carry permit in South Dakota, you are required to apply at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.

  1. Complete a qualifying handgun course that meets the requirements in South Dakota law 23-7-58. The course must be taught by a National Rifle Association certified instructor. The instructor must also hold a certificate of completion from the South Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation on the use of force. South Dakota calls instructors that meet these requirements Enhanced Concealed Pistol Use of Force instructors.
    • Find an Enhanced Concealed Pistol Use of Force instructor here.
  2. Go to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence to complete the application process. Bring the following items:
    1. A copy of the certificate that proves you completed an SD approved qualified handgun course.
    2. Your SD state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    3. Application fee: A check or money order for $100. The sheriff’s office will tell you who to make the check out to.
    4. Fingerprint processing fee: this fee varies, and will cover the cost of processing your fingerprints through the FBI to conduct your criminal background check.
  3. After completing the application and presenting the items above, the sheriff’s office will take a complete set of fingerprints to be used to initiate your criminal background check.

After these steps are completed, if accepted, the department processing the application will issue you a temporary permit shortly. After receiving the temporary permit, the sheriff will send a copy of your application to the South Dakota Secretary of State. The Secretary of State is then legally required to issue the official permit in 30 days or less. 

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You’ve been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony involving controlled substances in the last 5 years.
  6. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  7. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  8. You have a mental illness.
  9. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  10. You are a fugitive from justice.
  11. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  12. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • School property.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • Bars, or any establishment that derives over 50% of its income from the sale of alcohol to be consumed on the premises.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout SD

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have an SD or SD recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess an SD or SD recognized concealed carry permit, you must abide by the following guidelines when transporting a handgun through (from another state into SD) and throughout (within SD) the state:

  • You must legally possess the firearm.
  • The firearm must be unloaded.
  • The firearm must be stored in one of the following places:
    • The trunk.
    • Another closed compartment of the vehicle.
    • In a closed container that’s too large to be effectively concealed on you or within your clothing.

Additional Notes About SD Handgun Law

Does SD Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

Yes.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does SD Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does SD Recognize?

ALL* – Per SD law 23-7-7.4, SD honors any valid permit to carry a concealed pistol according to the terms of its issuance in the state of its issue, but only to the extent that the terms of issuance comply with any appropriate South Dakota statute or promulgated rule.

Reciprocity – Where is the SD Permit Recognized?

The SD concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

SD Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity

Page Updates

  • March 17, 2018 – Added ‘Restricted-Enhanced’ to types of permits issued by SD. Recent bill was passed to raise the age of obtaining an enhanced permit from 18 to 21. As a result, SD came up with the restricted-enhanced permit for residents aged 18-20.

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>