Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
Note: Oregon sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a concealed handgun license (CHL).
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside in Oregon
- Valid for 4 years
- Costs $65-$80 (+$Safety Training)
1) Resident of Bordering State
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside in either WA, ID, NV, CA
- Valid for 4 years
- Costs $65-$80 (+$Safety Training)
Note: Any resident or non-resident that may legally possess a handgun and is at least 18 years old can open carry. No permit is required in this case. However, cities and towns are allowed to pass laws and ordinances to regulate firearms in public places for those without a concealed handgun license. Check each town’s laws if you plan on open carrying without a CHL.
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed handgun license.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Oregon is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they may issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get an OR concealed handgun license as an OR resident, you are required to apply at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.
- Complete an OR approved handgun safety course. The following are types of courses and other ways to meet this requirement:
- Complete training online here. This is the most convenient and therefore recommended way to meet the requirement. Cost is $55.
- Complete any hunter education safety course approved by the State Department of Fish and Wildlife or a similar agency of another state if handgun safety was a component of the course.
- Complete any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course if handgun safety was a component of the course.
- Complete any firearms safety or training course offered by law enforcement, a community college, or another organization that utilizes instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency if handgun safety was a component of the course.
- Complete any law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for security guards, investigators, reserve law enforcement officers, or any other law enforcement officers if handgun safety was a component of the course.
- Present evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military service.
- Contact your local sheriff’s office to ensure you can apply and be fingerprinted in person at their office. You may also need to make an appointment to complete the application process.
- Go to your local sheriff’s office at your appointment time to complete an application. Bring the following items:
- A copy of the certificate that proves you completed an OR approved handgun safety course.
- Your OR state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- Another form of identification that has your signature.
- Application fee: A check or money order for $65 made payable to the sheriff in your county of residence.
- Fingerprinting fee: $15.
- A stamped, self-addressed envelope. This will be used to mail your permit if your application is approved.
- The sheriff’s office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to be used to initiate your criminal background check.
After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 45 days or less whether your application was denied or approved. A denial may be appealed.
To get an OR concealed handgun license as a non-resident, you must reside in a state that borders Oregon, either Washington, Idaho, Nevada, or California. If you meet this qualification, you may apply at any sheriff’s office that will issue to non-residents. Certain sheriffs will not issue to people outside their county. Also, when issuing to non-residents, certain sheriffs ask that you supply 2 references.
Once you find a sheriff that will issue to non-residents, the application process is the same as it is for residents. Before traveling to a sheriff’s office to apply in person, call the office to (1) make an appointment and (2) ask what other documentation (including references) is required of non-residents.
*Explore the application procedures for each Oregon county sheriff’s office here – this information is maintained by the Oregon Firearms Federation.
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
If you meet any of the following conditions, your application is almost guaranteed to be denied:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You’ve been discharged from the jurisdiction of a juvenile court in the last 4 years for committing an act which, if committed by an adult, would be a felony or a misdemeanor.
- You’ve been found guilty of a misdemeanor in the last 4 years.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Jails, lockup facilities, or other correctional facilities.
- Indian reservations.
- Post offices.
- Military bases.
- On some college and university property, including Oregon State University.
- At any Oregon Racing Commission racecourse.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
Note: Certain National Parks may prohibit firearms in specific facilities or buildings. Any place that is prohibited will be appropriately marked with a sign at each entrance.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout OR
With a Concealed Carry Permit
If you have a OR concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.
Without a Concealed Carry Permit
If you do not possess a OR concealed carry permit, and you legally possess a handgun, you may open carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle.
Concealed, But Not Readily Accessible
If you do not possess a OR concealed carry permit, and you legally possess a handgun, you may have a concealed loaded handgun in your vehicle so long as the handgun is not readily accessible. You must abide by the following when storing the loaded handgun in your car:
- The handgun is not in the passenger compartment of the vehicle.
- If the vehicle has no storage location that is outside the passenger compartment:
- The handgun must be stored in a closed and locked glove compartment, center console, or other container.
- The key must not be inserted in the lock if the glove compartment, center console, or other container unlocks
with a key.
*Note: Cities and towns are allowed to pass laws and ordinances to regulate firearms in public places for those without a concealed handgun license. Check each town’s laws if you plan to transport a loaded handgun in your vehicle without a CHL. If you’re in a town that prohibits the transportation of a loaded firearm in a vehicle, make sure you transport your handgun unloaded, secured in a closed container or in the trunk of your vehicle, and not readily accessible to any of the vehicle’s occupants.
Additional Notes About OR Handgun Law
Does OR Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does OR Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does OR Recognize?
None. OR does not honor any other states’ permits.
Reciprocity – Where is the OR Permit Recognized?
The OR concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:
- July 1, 2017 – Nevada added to graphic of states that recognize the Oregon permit
- August 12, 2017 – Link to complete approved handgun safety training online added to Process to Apply section