Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
1) Residents & Non-Residents
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside or be employed in Ohio
- Valid for 5 years
- Costs $67 (+$Safety Course)
Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 21 years of age or older and can legally possess a firearm may open carry. No permit is required in this case.
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed weapon license.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Ohio is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get an OH concealed carry permit, you are required to apply at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence or in your county of employment (if applying as a non-resident).
- Complete an OH approved handgun training course that includes live fire. The course must be taught by a National Rifle Association or an Ohio Peace Training Commission certified instructor.
- Find a certified instructor by county here.
- Print an application online here. Complete the application.
- Bring the following items to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence or your county of employment (if applying as a non-resident):
- A copy of the certificate that proves you completed an OH approved handgun training course.
- Your completed application.
- Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- A color passport style photograph taken of yourself in the last 30 days.
- Application fee: A check or money order for $67. The sheriff’s office will tell you who to make the check payable to.
- The sheriff’s office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to initiate your criminal background check.
After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 45 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You’ve been convicted of, or were adjudicated as a delinquent child for assaulting a police officer.
- You’ve been convicted of, or were adjudicated as a delinquent child for committing assault or negligent assault 2 or more times in the last 5 years.
- You’ve been convicted of resisting arrest in the last 10 years.
- You’ve been adjudicated as a delinquent child for committing an act that if committed by an adult would be the offense of resisting arrest in the last 10 years.
- You’ve been convicted or were adjudicated as a delinquent child for committing an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult.
- You’ve been adjudicated in the last 3 years as a delinquent child for committing an act that would be a misdemeanor if committed by an adult.
- You’ve been convicted of an offense that involves the illegal possession, use, sale, administration, distribution, or trafficking of a controlled substance.
- You’ve been adjudicated as a delinquent child for committing an act that if committed by an adult would be an offense that involves the illegal possession, use, sale, administration, distribution, or trafficking of a controlled substance.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Law enforcement offices, stations, and posts.
- Correctional institutions.
- Any building owned or operated by the government or political subdivision of the state. This does not include facilities primarily used as shelters, restrooms, parking facilities for motor vehicles, or rest facilities.
- Facilities operated by the Ohio Department of Mental Health.
- School grounds, including colleges and universities.
- Child-care centers.
- Indian reservations.
- An establishment used as a gaming site at which bingo is the primary activity.
- Places of worship.
- Post offices.
- Military bases.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Any room or open air arena in which alcohol is served for consumption on the premises. However, you may carry in these locations if you do not consume alcohol.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout OH
With a Concealed Carry Permit
If you have a OH or OH recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a loaded handgun (concealed or open) on your person in a vehicle. The firearm may not be accessible to children.
Without a Concealed Carry Permit
If you don’t have a OH or OH recognized concealed carry permit, and you legally possess a handgun, follow these guidelines when transporting a handgun into and throughout the state:
- The firearm must be unloaded.
- The firearm is secured in one of the following ways:
- In a closed package, box, or case.
- In a compartment that can’t be reached without leaving the vehicle.
- In plain sight and secured in a rack or holder made for the purpose.
Additional Notes About OH Handgun Law
Does OH Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does OH Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does OH Recognize?
ALL. OH recognizes all other states’ concealed carry permits.
Reciprocity – Where is the OH Permit Recognized?
The OH concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states: