Page Last Modified: Sep 23, 2017 @ 11:52 am

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

Note: North Dakota sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a concealed weapon license.

1) Class 1 License (Better Reciprocity)

Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside in North Dakota
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $60 (+$Test +$Range Fees +$Fingerprinting)

Non-Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside in a state that has reciprocity with ND
  • Must possess a concealed weapon license in your home state
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $60 (+$Test +$Range Fees +$Fingerprinting)

2) Class 2 License

Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Must reside in North Dakota
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $60 (+$Test +$Fingerprinting)

Non-Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Must reside in a state that has reciprocity with ND
  • Must possess a concealed weapon license in your home state
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $60 (+$Test+$Fingerprinting)

 

Note: Any North Dakota resident 18 years of age or older, who’s held a state issued ID or driver’s license for at least 1 year, and is not precluded from possessing a class 2 firearm, may carry concealed without a permit.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed weapon license.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

North Dakota is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Class 1 License

To get a Class 1 concealed weapon license in North Dakota, you are required to apply through the mail directly to the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI).

  1. Complete an online application here. Submit the application, and print a copy to bring with you to a testing site.
    • Note: Depending on the test administrator you choose in step 2, you may be able to complete an application with him/her and print it there.
  2. Contact a ND certified concealed weapon test administrator to make an appointment to complete classroom instruction, take the written (open book) test, demonstrate familiarity with a weapon, and successfully complete a shooting test. Besides the written test, the other items are only required for a Class 1 license.
    • Note: The test is based on the Concealed Weapon License Manual. We suggest that you read through the manual here.
    • The test administrator may charge up to $50 (plus range fees).
    • Find a test administrator here.
  3. Go to your appointment with the test administrator. Remember to bring the printed copy of your completed application to a testing site.
    • Note: Make sure the test administrator signs and dates the testing section on your completed application.
  4. Go to any local law enforcement agency to get 2 complete sets of fingerprints taken. The fee for this varies, but should be minimal.
  5. Go to a local retailer (i.e. CVS, Walgreens, etc) and get 2 color passport style photographs of yourself. Don’t wear headgear, uniforms, or glasses for the photos. Write your name on the back of each photo.
  6. Mail the following items to the address listed below:
    1. Your completed application.
    2. A copy of your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    3. A copy of your concealed carry license from your state of residence (if you’re applying as a non-resident).
    4. 2 fingerprint cards.
    5. Application fee: A check or money order for $60 made payable to “North Dakota Attorney General“.
    6. 2 color passport style photographs of yourself from the past 30 days. Make sure your name is on the back of each photo.

After these steps are completed, the Bureau of Criminal Investigation is legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Mailing Address
BCI-CWL
PO Box 1054
Bismarck ND 58502

Class 2 License

To get a Class 2 concealed weapon license in North Dakota, you are required to apply through the mail directly to the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). The application is the same, and the process is similar to applying for a Class 1 license.

  1. Complete an online application here. Submit the application, and print a copy to bring with you to a testing site.
    • Note: Depending on the test administrator you choose in step 2, you may be able to complete an application with him/her and print it there.
  2. Contact a ND certified concealed weapon test administrator to make an appointment to take the written (open book) test. Also, let him/her know you’re applying for a Class 2 license.
    • Note: The test is based on the Concealed Weapon License Manual. We suggest that you read through the manual here.
    • The test administrator may charge up to $50.
    • Find a test administrator here.
  3. Go to your appointment with the test administrator. Remember to bring the printed copy of your completed application to a testing site.
    • Note: Make sure the test administrator signs and dates the testing section on your completed application.
  4. Go to any local law enforcement agency to get 2 complete sets of fingerprints taken. The fee for this varies, but should be minimal.
  5. Go to a local retailer (i.e. CVS, Walgreens, etc) and get 2 color passport style photographs of yourself. Don’t wear headgear, uniforms, or glasses for the photos. Write your name on the back of each photo.
  6. Mail the following items to the address listed below:
    1. Your completed application.
    2. A copy of your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    3. A copy of your concealed carry license from your state of residence (if you’re applying as a non-resident).
    4. 2 fingerprint cards.
    5. Application fee: A check or money order for $60 made payable to “North Dakota Attorney General“.
    6. 2 color passport style photographs of yourself from the past 30 days. Make sure your name is on the back of each photo.

After these steps are completed, the Bureau of Criminal Investigation is legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Mailing Address
BCI-CWL
PO Box 1054
Bismarck ND 58502

 

Note: As of June 2017, you can now upgrade your class 2 license to a class 1, so long as your license hasn’t expired. This involves additional testing requirements and a $60 application fee. You get the additional reciprocity associated with a class 1 license in return.

More info here.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You’ve been convicted of an alcohol related offense in the past 10 years.
    • Note: this only makes you ineligible for a class 1 license. Read more here.
  6. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  7. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  8. You have a mental illness.
  9. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  10. You are a fugitive from justice.
  11. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  12. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • School grounds, including colleges and universities.
  • Indian reservations.
  • An establishment used as a gaming site at which bingo is the primary activity.
  • Places of worship. However, a person with a concealed carry permit may carry in a house of worship if authorized by church representatives and notice is provided to local law enforcement.
  • Post offices.
  • A public gathering (a sporting or athletic event, school function, or in a publicly owned or operated building).
  • A state game refuge or game management area.
  • Military bases.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • Bars, or establishments or portions of establishments licensed to distribute alcohol for consumption on the premises.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout ND

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have a ND or ND recognized concealed carry permit, or you’re a resident who meets the permitless carry requirements (outlined in the Types of Concealed Carry Permits section above), you may transport a loaded handgun (concealed or open) on your person in a vehicle.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you don’t have a ND or ND recognized concealed carry permit, and you legally possess a handgun, you may transport an unloaded handgun (concealed or open) in a vehicle.

Alternatively, you may transport a handgun in the following manner:

  • You must legally possess the firearm.
  • The firearm is unloaded.
  • The firearm is secured in a closed container.

Additional Notes About ND Handgun Law

Does ND Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

No.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does ND Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does ND Recognize?

ND recognizes the concealed carry permits issued by any state that recognizes a ND concealed weapon license. Therefore, ND recognizes the states that are shaded any color other than grey in the picture below.

Read more about ND reciprocity here.

Reciprocity – Where is the ND Permit Recognized?

The ND concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

ND Concealed Weapon License Reciprocity

Page Updates

  • June 17, 2017 – Info and link added related to upgrading your class 2 license to a class 1.
  • August 5, 2017 – Note added to Types of Concealed Carry Permits section concerning permitless carry, which is now legal for ND residents who meet certain criteria.

 

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>