Page Last Modified: Mar 3, 2017 @ 8:53 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

1) Residents & Non-Residents

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside, be employed, or have a place of business in New York
  • Valid for 5 years
    • If issued in NYC, valid for 2 years
  • Costs $10 typically, but varies based on your county of residence

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

Yes – you must carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

New York is a may issue state, meaning the law states that they may issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply – Residents

To get a concealed carry permit in NY, you are required to apply at the police/sheriff’s office in your county of residence. If you’re a non-resident, apply in the county you’re employed in.

  1. Pick up an application from the police department in your county of residence (or employment for non-residents). Or, print one here.
    • Note: It may be beneficial to pick one up in person in order to more easily complete step 2.
  2. Ask this police department if there are any additional requirements set forth by the county.
    • Note: Some counties, for instance Westchester county, require the completion of an approved training course – most counties do not.
  3. Have your application signed by 4 character references. These references will be attesting to your good moral character.
  4. Complete the application, and bring the following items to the police department in the county you’re applying to complete the process:
    1. (If applicable – see step 2) A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a NY approved handgun safety course.
    2. Present your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    3. Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
  5. After turning in this paperwork, the department will take a complete set of fingerprints to initiate a criminal background check.

There isn’t a NY law that mandates a length of time for an application to be approved or denied. On the New York State government website, they mention that you should expect it to take a minimum of 4 months to hear a decision on your application.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

If you meet any of the following conditions, your application is almost guaranteed to be denied:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  6. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  7. You have a mental illness.
  8. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  9. You are a fugitive from justice.
  10. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  11. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • In New York City.
  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • In certain local city/county government buildings, if posted.
  • At any parks or recreation areas owned or operated by the Department of Environmental Conservation or the New York State Parks Recreation & Historic Preservation.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • On any school property.
  • At any child-care facility.
  • At any facility of the New York Department of Mental Hygiene, or any residential facility that has an operating certificate issued by the Department.
  • At any facility operated or licensed by the Office of Mental Health of the Department of Mental Hygiene.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • State parks.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout NY

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have a NY concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Note: Per NY Penal Law 400.00(6), Whether you have a concealed carry permit or not, you cannot carry a loaded firearm throughout New York City. If you have a concealed carry permit, you may carry an unloaded, secured handgun through New York City if your trip is continuous and uninterrupted. Follow the guidelines below for transporting without a concealed carry permit when transporting a handgun through New York City.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess a NY concealed carry permit, you must abide by the following guidelines when transporting a handgun through (from another state into NY) and throughout (within NY) the state:

  • You must legally possess the firearm.
  • The firearm must be unloaded and secured.
  • The firearm (and ammunition) cannot be readily accessible by the driver or any passengers.
  • The firearm and the ammunition cannot be stored in the glove compartment or passenger console.
  • If the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the driver’s compartment, the firearm and ammunition must be stored in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console.

Note: Per NY Penal Law 400.00(6), you cannot transport a handgun through New York City at all without a concealed carry permit.

Additional Notes About NY Handgun Law

Does NY Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

No.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does NY Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Sort of.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Per NY law, deadly force may be used when in possession or control of any premises so long as you aren’t the initial aggressor. Additionally, per NY Penal Law 35.20, deadly force may be used when in possession or control of any premises to prevent or terminate the commission or attempted commission of arson, or to prevent or terminate the commission or attempted commission of a burglary.

Magazine Capacity

Large Capacity Magazines, i.e. any magazine that can accept greater than 10 rounds of ammunition are banned in NY. Furthermore, NY limits any person to putting 7 rounds of ammunition into a magazine, unless the person is at an incorporated firing range or competition recognized by the National Rifle Association or International Handgun Metallic Silhouette Association.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does NY Recognize?

None. NY does not honor any other states’ permits.

Reciprocity – Where is the NY Permit Recognized?

The NY concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

NY Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

  1. So heres my question. I have family in long island. I live in orange county ny and havr an unrestricted carry. To goto long island i must drive through nyc. Please explain how/when to lock my pistol when i take this route. Thanks

    • Hi Joe-

      Although you can’t ‘carry’ in NYC, it’s perfectly legal to transport your firearm while driving through. I’d recommend locking your pistol prior to entering NYC on your trip. Be sure you follow the additional guidelines for transporting through NYC outlined in the ‘Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout NY’ section above (i.e. pistol needs to be unloaded, locked and out of reach, etc.).

  2. What if i take an alternate route and drive through jerey through staten island>brooklyn to my destination long island. I understand before entering nyc,i must unload and lock in thr trunk. Am i allowed to drive through nj while traveling?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>