Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
Note: New Mexico (NM) sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a concealed handgun carry (CHC).
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside in New Mexico
- Valid for 4 years
- Costs $100 (+$Safety Course)
Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 19 years old and can legally possess a firearm may open carry. No permit is required in this case. However, you cannot open carry in National Parks, National Wildlife Management Areas, or any establishment that sells liquor (for consumption on or off the premises) without a NM or NM recognized concealed carry permit
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed handgun carry permit.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
New Mexico is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get a concealed carry permit in New Mexico, you are required to apply by mail to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety.
- Complete a NM approved firearms training course. Find an approved instructor here.
- Print an application here.
- Note: All forms that you’re required to fill out can be found here.
- Get a complete set of fingerprints taken with 3M Cogent. Find a location near you and book an appointment here.
- Mail the following items to the address listed below:
- Your completed application.
- A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a NM approved handgun training course.
- A copy of your NM state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- A copy of your U.S. birth certificate.
- The electronic fingerprint background check receipt that proves you’ve had a complete set of fingerprints taken.
- A completed authorization for release of health information form, which can be found here.
- A completed authorization for release of information form, which can be found here.
- Application fee: A check or money order for $56 made payable to “New Mexico Department of Public Safety“.
- Background check fee: A check or money order for $44 made payable to “Cogent“. This is not required if the payment is collected in step 3 when you get your fingerprints taken.
After these steps are completed, the department processing the application has 30 days after your background investigation is completed to inform you whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.
NM Department of Public Safety
Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You’ve been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within the last 10 years.
- You’ve been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs within the last 5 years.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Indian reservations.
- Post offices.
- Public buses.
- Military bases.
- School property, including colleges and universities.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Bars, or any establishment that derives more than 40% of its revenue from the sale of alcohol for consumption on the premises.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
Note: You cannot carry in National Parks or National Wildlife Management Areas without a NM or NM recognized concealed carry permit.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout NM
Whether you have a NM or NM recognized concealed carry permit or not, so long as you can legally possess a handgun, you may transport a loaded handgun on your person (open or concealed) in a vehicle.
Additional Notes About NM Handgun Law
Does NM Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does NM Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
Sort of – A Castle Doctrine law isn’t formally adopted.
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Per NM law, Chapter 30 Article 2 Section 30-2-7, the use of deadly force is justified when committed in the necessary defense of one’s life or property, in response to any unlawful action directed at the defendant or a family member, or to prevent a felony or other great harm to another.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does NM Recognize?
NM honors the following states’ concealed carry permits, so long as the permit was issued to someone 21 years of age or older:
Reciprocity – Where is the NM Permit Recognized?
The NM concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states: