Page Last Modified: Mar 3, 2017 @ 8:53 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

1) Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside in New Jersey
  • Must have a justifiable reason to carry a handgun
  • Valid for 2 years
  • Costs $20 (+ $Safety Course)

2) Non-Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside in New Jersey
  • Must have a justifiable reason to carry a handgun
  • Valid for 2 years
  • Costs $20 (+ $Safety Course)

*Note: It is reportedly very difficult to get a NJ concealed carry permit.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

Yes – you must carry concealed with a concealed carry permit. Open carry is illegal.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

New Jersey is a may issue state, meaning the law states that they may issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Residents

To get a concealed carry permit as a NJ resident, you must apply to the police department in your town of residence.

  1. Complete a firearms training course that includes live fire and is approved by the NJ Police Training Commission. Generally, National Rifle Association courses are accepted.
    • Note: Check with your local police department before taking a course to ensure the course you take is approved.
  2. Go to the police department in your town of residence to get an application and other necessary forms.
  3. Get 3 people who have known you for at least 3 years to endorse your application. These people will need to certify that you are of good moral character.
  4. Type your ‘justifiable need‘ to carry a handgun – a concealed carry permit will not be issued without a justifiable need. This should be detailed.
  5. Bring your completed application, along with the following items to the police department in your town of residence:
    1. A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a NJ approved handgun safety course.
    2. Your NJ state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    3. Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    4. A consent for mental health records search form (SP-66).
    5. Application fee: A check or money order for $20 made payable to the County Clerk in the town you’re applying.
  6. After turning in this paperwork, the department will take a complete set of fingerprints to initiate a criminal background check.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Non-Residents

To get a concealed carry permit as a non-resident, you must apply to the NJ police department closest to your residence.

  1. Complete a firearms training course that includes live fire and is approved by the NJ Police Training Commission. Generally, National Rifle Association courses are accepted.
    • Note: Check with your local police department before taking a course to ensure the course you take is approved.
  2. Call the police department in the town you’re applying to get an application and other necessary forms. They may require you pick these up in person.
  3. Get 3 people who have known you for at least 3 years to endorse your application. These people will need to certify that you are of good moral character.
  4. Type your ‘justifiable need‘ to carry a handgun – a concealed carry permit will not be issued without a justifiable need. This should be detailed.
  5. Bring your completed application, along with the following items to the police department in your town of residence:
    1. A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a NJ approved handgun safety course.
    2. Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    3. Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    4. A consent for mental health records search form (SP-66).
    5. Application fee: A check or money order for $20 made payable to the County Clerk in the town you’re applying.
  6. After turning in this paperwork, the department will take a complete set of fingerprints to initiate a criminal background check.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

If you meet any of the following conditions, your application is almost guaranteed to be denied:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  6. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  7. You have a mental illness.
  8. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  9. You are a fugitive from justice.
  10. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  11. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Casinos.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • On any school property, including colleges and universities.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout NJ

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have a NJ concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess a NJ concealed carry permit, you must abide by the following guidelines when transporting a handgun through (from another state into NJ) and throughout (within NJ) the state:

  • You must legally possess the firearm.
  • The firearm must be unloaded
  • The firearm and ammunition cannot be readily accessible from the passenger compartment of the vehicle.
  • The firearm must be secured in a closed and securely fastened case, or locked in the trunk. If the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the passenger compartment, the firearm and ammunition must be in a locked container other than the vehicle’s glove compartment or console.

Go here for more information.

Additional Notes About NJ Handgun Law

Does NJ Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

No.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does NJ Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Magazine Capacity

Large Capacity Magazines, i.e. any magazine that can accept greater than 15 rounds of ammunition are banned in NJ.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does NJ Recognize?

None. NJ does not honor any other states’ permits.

Reciprocity – Where is the NJ Permit Recognized?

The NJ concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

NJ Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>