Page Last Modified: Mar 24, 2018 @ 10:59 am

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes. Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

1) Residents & Non-Residents

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must be a U.S. citizen
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs about $100 (+$Safety Course), varies depending on your county of residence

Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 18 years old and can legally possess a firearm may open carry. No permit is required in this case.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Nevada is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Resident

To get a concealed carry permit as a Nevada resident, you are required to apply at the police or sheriff’s office in your county of residence.

  1. Go to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence to pick up an application. You’ll need the application packet before taking a training course because your instructor may need to sign.
  2. Complete a NV approved firearm training course. Find a Nevada approved certified instructor here.
    • Note: Check with your local sheriff’s office before taking a course with an instructor that’s not on the list in the link above.
  3. Go to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence to complete the application process. Remember to bring the following items:
    1. Your completed (unsigned) application. Do not sign until instructed to do so – the signature may need to be witnessed and notarized.
    2. A copy of the certificate that proves you completed an approved training course.
    3. Your NV state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    4. Your U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport, or other legal proof of citizenship.
    5. Application fee: this fee varies, but will not exceed $100.
  4. The sheriff’s office will then take a color photograph to be used for your permit, if approved.
  5. The sheriff’s office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to be used for your criminal background check.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 120 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Non-Resident

To get a concealed carry permit as a non-resident, you can apply at any police or sheriff’s office. You are required to apply and submit the application in person.

  1. Go to the sheriff’s office in the county you wish to apply to pick up an application. You’ll need the application packet before taking a training course because your instructor may need to sign.
  2. Complete a NV approved firearm training course. Find a Nevada approved certified instructor here.
    • Note: Check with your local sheriff’s office before taking a course with an instructor that’s not on the list in the link above.
  3. Go to the sheriff’s office in the county you’re applying to complete the application process. Remember to bring the following items:
    1. Your completed (unsigned) application. Do not sign until instructed to do so – the signature may need to be witnessed and notarized.
    2. A copy of the certificate that proves you completed an approved training course.
    3. Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    4. Your U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport, or other legal proof of citizenship.
    5. Application fee: this fee varies, but will not exceed $100.
  4. The sheriff’s office will then take a color photograph to be used for your permit, if approved.
  5. The sheriff’s office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to be used for your criminal background check.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 120 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You’ve recently been convicted of a DUI.
  6. You’ve been convicted for a violation of any law relating to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon, or controlled substances in the past 10 years.
  7. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  8. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  9. You have a mental illness.
  10. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  11. You are a fugitive from justice.
  12. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  13. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Any law enforcement agency facility.
  • School grounds, including colleges and universities.
  • Child-care facilities.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • In any location the Legislature conducts its business.
  • Any state or local government building.
  • Military bases.
  • Airports.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • Any public building that has a metal detector at each public entrance or a sign posted at each public entrance indicating that no firearms are allowed in the building.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout NV

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have a NV or NV recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a loaded handgun (concealed or open) on your person in a vehicle.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not have a NV or NV recognized concealed carry permit, you may open carry a loaded handgun on your person in a vehicle into and throughout the state.

Additional Notes About NV Handgun Law

Does NV Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

Yes. The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does NV Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes. The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home. This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does NV Recognize?

NV recognizes the concealed carry permits issued by the following states, so long as the permit was issued to someone 21 years of age or older: Permits NV RecognizesGo here for more info on reciprocity.

Reciprocity – Where is the NV Permit Recognized?

The NV concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

NV Reciprocity 3-24-18

Page Updates

  • July 1, 2017 – Oregon added to graphic of states’ permits recognized by Nevada
  • March 10, 2018 – Link to approved instructors updated
  • March 24, 2018 – Minnesota no longer honors Nevada permits – reciprocity map updated.

 

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>