Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
Note: Nebraska sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a concealed handgun permit.
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside in Nebraska for at least 180 days before applying
- Valid for 5 years
- Costs $100 (+$Safety Course)
Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 18 years old and can legally possess a firearm may open carry. No permit is required in this case.
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Nebraska is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get a concealed weapons permit in Nebraska, you are required to apply at the Criminal Identification Division or one of the Nebraska State Patrol Troop Area Headquarters locations. Find the Nebraska State Patrol location nearest you here.
- Complete a NE approved firearm training course. Find a local Nebraska State Patrol certified instructor here.
- Print an application online here.
- Complete the application and have it notarized.
- Find the nearest Nebraska State Patrol location. Bring the following items to that location to complete the application process:
- Your notarized, completed application.
- A copy of the certificate that proves you completed an approved training course.
- Your NE state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- Your U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport, or other legal proof of citizenship.
- Application fee: $100.
- Proof of vision: having a class ‘O’ driver’s license will suffice. Otherwise, you’ll need a current statement by a Nebraska licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist certifying that you’ve been tested and meet the vision requirements prescribed for a class ‘O’ driver’s license.
- Proof of address. Your NE state issued I.D., if issued 180+ days ago, will suffice. If not, bring 2 of the following items:
- Utility bill.
- Bank statement.
- Nebraska vehicle registration.
- Nebraska voter registration card.
- Pay stub.
- Mortgage or lease agreement.
- Tax documents issued 180+ days before applying.
- The Nebraska State Patrol office will then take a color photograph to be used for your permit, if approved.
- The Nebraska State Patrol office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to be used for your criminal background check.
After these steps are completed, the Criminal Identification Division is legally required to inform you in 45 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You’ve been convicted for a violation of any law relating to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon, or controlled substances in the past 10 years.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Detention facilities, prisons, or jails.
- Police and sheriff stations.
- Nebraska State Patrol stations.
- School grounds, including colleges and universities.
- Any school sponsored event, including athletics.
- At any professional or semi-professional athletic event.
- Indian reservations.
- Places of worship.
- Post offices.
- Banks, credit unions, or other financial institutions.
- Meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or other political subdivision.
- Meeting of the Legislature or a Committee of the Legislature.
- At political rallies or fundraisers.
- Polling places during elections.
- Hospitals, emergency rooms, or trauma centers.
- Military bases.
- Within the boundaries of a state game refuge or the State Wild Game Preserve.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Bars, or establishments or portions of establishments licensed to distribute alcohol for consumption on the premises.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout NE
With a Concealed Carry Permit
If you have a NE or NE recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a loaded handgun (concealed or open) on your person in a vehicle.
Without a Concealed Carry Permit
Under NE law, towns and cities may pass laws or ordinances to regulate the carrying of concealed weapons without a concealed weapons permit. Be mindful that in certain towns, it may be illegal to open carry a loaded handgun on your person (both in and outside of your vehicle).
1) In Towns That Don’t Restrict Open Carry Without a Permit
If you legally possess a firearm, but you do not have a NE or NE recognized concealed carry permit, you can open carry a loaded handgun on your person in a vehicle.
2) In Towns That Restrict Open Carry Without a Permit
If you’re traveling through a town that bans the open carry of loaded handguns, you may transport a handgun in the following manner:
- You must legally possess the firearm.
- The firearm must be unloaded.
- The firearm cannot be readily accessible by any occupant in the vehicle.
- The firearm must be secured in a closed container.
Additional Notes About NE Handgun Law
Does NE Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does NE Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does NE Recognize?
NE recognizes the concealed carry permits issued by the following states, so long as the permit was issued to someone 21 years of age or older:
Read more about NE reciprocity here.
Reciprocity – Where is the NE Permit Recognized?
The NE concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:
- February 24, 2018 – Links updated.