Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside in Missouri for a minimum of 90 days before applying
- Valid for:
- 5 years – fee will not exceed $100 (+$Safety Course).
- 10 years – fee will not exceed $200 (+$Safety Course).
- 25 years – fee will not exceed $250 (+$Safety Course).
- Lifetime – fee will not exceed $500 (+$Safety Course).
Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 19 years old and can legally possess a firearm may concealed or open carry. No permit is required in this case. However, there are certain locations that you cannot carry without a concealed carry permit.
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Missouri is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get a concealed carry permit in Missouri , you are required to apply with the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.
- Complete a MO approved firearms safety training course that includes live fire. Find a list of approved instructors/courses here. Other courses offered by nationally recognized institutions (i.e. the National Rifle Association) may be approved, contact your local sheriff’s office to confirm.
- Contact the sheriff’s office in your county of residence to make an appointment to apply. Some offices do not require appointments. Also, ask if the sheriff requires additional documentation that proves your residency (other than your driver’s license or I.D.) to apply.
- Bring the following items with you to your local sheriff’s office to complete the application:
- A copy of the certificate that shows you completed an approved firearms training course.
- Your MS state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- Other documentation that proves your residency, if applicable from step 2.
- Application fee: This fee will vary depending on how long you wish your permit to last:
- 5 years – fee will not exceed $100.
- 10 years – fee will not exceed $200.
- 25 years – fee will not exceed $250.
- Lifetime – fee will not exceed $500.
- The sheriff’s office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to initiate your criminal background check. The fee for this service varies, but should be minimal.
After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 45 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
If the applicant meets any of the following conditions, his/her application is almost guaranteed to be denied:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You’ve been convicted of 2 or more misdemeanors involving DWI or possession or abuse of a controlled substance within the last 5 years.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You’ve been ordered by a court to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program in the last 3 years.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Adult or juvenile jails, prisons, or other detention institutions.
- Police or sheriff’s stations.
- Highway patrol stations.
- In the Capitol Building.
- At any meeting of the governing body of a unit of local government, or any meeting of the general assembly or a committee of the general assembly.
- Within 25 feet of polling places on election day.
- Indian reservations.
- Riverboat gambling operations.
- Post offices.
- Military bases.
- School property, including colleges and universities.
- At any school sponsored function or event.
- Sports arenas with seating capacities of 5,000 or more.
- Public hospitals.
- Child-care facilities.
- Gated areas of amusement parks.
- Places of worship.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Bars, or any establishment or portion of an establishment which dispenses alcohol to be consumed on the premises.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
- Anywhere the general assembly, supreme court, county or municipality owns a building and prohibits the carrying of firearms. These locations will be clearly identified by signs posted at the entrance to the restricted area.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout MO
Whether you have a concealed carry permit or not, as long as you are 19 years old and can legally possess a handgun, you may transport a loaded handgun on your person (open or concealed) in a vehicle.
Additional Notes About MO Handgun Law
Does MO Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does MO Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does MO Recognize?
ALL. MO honors every other states’ concealed carry permits. However, you must be 21 years old or older for your permit to be honored.
Reciprocity – Where is the MO Permit Recognized?
The MO concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states: