Page Last Modified: Mar 24, 2018 @ 10:53 am

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

Note: Minnesota sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a permit to carry.

1) Residents & Non-Residents

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $100 (+$Safety Course)

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No. You may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Minnesota is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Residents

When applying for a permit to carry as a Minnesota resident, you are required to apply at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.

    1. Complete a MN approved firearms training course that includes live fire. Per MN law Statute 624.714 subd. 2a, the training must include:
      • The fundamentals of pistol use.
      • Successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise.
      • The fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force in MN.
      • Note: Find a certified instructor near you here.
    2. Print an application online here.
    3. Complete the application. Bring the completed application along with the following items to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence:
      1. A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a MN approved firearms training course.
      2. A copy of your state issued I.D., driver’s license, or the photo page of your U.S. passport.
      3. Application fee: This fee will not exceed $100.
    4. The sheriff’s office may then take a complete set of fingerprints in order to conduct your criminal background check.
    5. The sheriff will then conduct a criminal background check through the Minnesota Crime Information System and the National Instant Criminal Background Check System.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 30 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied.

Non-Residents

When applying for a permit to carry as a non-resident, you may apply to any sheriff’s office. You are still required to bring your application and associated materials in person to a sheriff’s office.

    1. Complete a MN approved firearms training course that includes live fire. Per MN law Statute 624.714 subd. 2a, the training must include:
      • The fundamentals of pistol use.
      • Successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise.
      • The fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force in MN.
      • Note: Find a certified instructor near you here.
    2. Print an application online here.
    3. Complete the application. Bring the completed application along with the following items to the sheriff’s office you wish to apply through:
      1. A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a MN approved firearms training course.
      2. A copy of your state issued I.D., driver’s license, or the photo page of your U.S. passport.
      3. A passport style (2 inches x 2 inches) color photograph taken of yourself within the last 30 days. Consult the application for additional photograph specifications.
      4. Application fee: This fee will not exceed $100.
    4. The sheriff’s office may then take a complete set of fingerprints in order to conduct your criminal background check.
    5. The sheriff will then conduct a criminal background check through the Minnesota Crime Information System and the National Instant Criminal Background Check System.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 30 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence, and 5th degree assault in MN.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You’ve been convicted, adjudicated delinquent, or convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile of a crime of violence unless civil rights have been restored and during that time you have not been convicted of any other crime of violence.
  6. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  7. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  8. You have a mental illness.
  9. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  10. You are a fugitive from justice.
  11. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  12. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
  13. You are listed in the Minnesota criminal gang investigation system (MN §299C.091).
  14. You’ve been convicted of any of the following misdemeanor violations in the last 3 years:
    1. A gross misdemeanor level crime committed for the benefit of a gang (MN §609.229).
    2. Assault motivated by bias (MN §609.2231, subd. 4).
    3. False imprisonment (MN §609.255).
    4. Neglect or endangerment of a child (MN §609.378).
    5. Burglary in 4th degree (MN §609.582 subd. 4).
      Setting a spring gun (MN §609.665).
    6. Riot (MN §609.71).
    7. Harassment and stalking (MN §609.749).

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • The grounds of certain licensed horse racing associations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • School property. This includes colleges and universities.
  • School buses when being used by a school to transport students to and from any school-related activities, including athletic events.
  • Child-care centers.
  • Hospitals.
  • Jails, prisons, or any other type of detention or correctional facility.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • The state capitol area and other state-owned or state-leased property within the Twin Cities metropolitan area as the governor may designate.
  • Public water access sites.
  • Property owned or controlled by the Minnesota Zoological Garden.
  • Bars, or any portion of an establishment that dispenses alcohol for consumption on the premises.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout MN

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have a MN or MN recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess a MN or MN recognized concealed carry permit, you must abide by the following conditions when transporting a handgun through (from another state into MN) and throughout (within MN) the state:

  1. You must legally possess the firearm.
  2. The firearm must be in the closed trunk of the motor vehicle, or in a gun case expressly made to contain a firearm.
    1. Note: The case must fully enclose the firearm by being zipped, snapped, buckled, tied, or otherwise fastened. No portion of the firearm may be exposed.

Additional Notes About MN Handgun Law

Does MN Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

No.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does MN Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Not Exactly.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

 Per MN law, Chapter 609 Section 609.065, you may only use deadly force in your home when you reasonably believe you are preventing the commission of a felony.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does MN Recognize?

MN honors following states’ concealed carry permits:

MN Reciprocity 3-24-18

Go here for more information on reciprocity.

Reciprocity – Where is the MN Permit Recognized?

The MN concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

MN Permit to Carry Reciprocity

Page Updates

  • March 24, 2018 – Minnesota no longer honors permits from Nevada, and it now does honor permits from West Virginia. Map updated.

 

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

  1. I’m really enjoying thee design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much
    more pleasant for me to come her annd visit more often. Did
    you hire ouut a developer to create your theme? Excellent work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>