Page Last Modified: Mar 3, 2017 @ 8:52 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

Note: Maine (ME) sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a pistol permit.

1) Residents & Non-Residents

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Valid for 4 years
  • Costs $35 (+$Safety Course)
    • Costs $60 for non-residents (+$Safety Course)

Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 18 years old and can legally possess a firearm may open carry. No permit is required in this case.

Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 21 years old and can legally possess a firearm may concealed or open carry. No permit is required in this case.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Maine is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Residents

Depending on the town you live in, you either apply through the Maine State Police or your local police department to get a concealed carry permit in Maine.

  1. Complete a handgun safety training course. Check with the Department of Public Safety or Maine State Police to ensure the course you take is approved. Maine generally accepts most National Rifle Association courses.
  2. If your town is on this list, you will apply through the state police for your permit. If not, apply through the police department in your town of residence. The application paperwork and items that must accompany it should be the same.
  3. Print an application here.
  4. Complete the application and all associated forms/authorizations. Send the application, along with the following materials, to the address listed below:
    • A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a ME approved handgun safety course.
    • A copy of your U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, or INS document to prove you are lawfully in the United States.
    • A color photograph head-shot of yourself in the past 30 days.
    • Application fee: A check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine” for $35.
    • *At this time, it doesn’t appear that Maine requires the submission of fingerprint cards.*

After these steps are completed, the Maine State Police is legally required to inform you in 30 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Mailing Address
Department of Public Safety
Maine State Police
Special Investigations
164 State House Station
Augusta, Maine
04333-0164

Non-Residents

All non-residents apply through the Maine State Police for a Maine concealed carry permit.

  1. Complete a handgun safety training course. Check with the Department of Public Safety or Maine State Police to ensure the course you take is approved. Maine generally accepts most National Rifle Association courses.
  2. Print an application here.
  3. Complete the application and all associated forms/authorizations. Send the application, along with the following materials, to the address listed below:
    • A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a ME approved handgun safety course.
    • A copy of your U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, or INS document to prove you are lawfully in the United States.
    • A color photograph head-shot of yourself in the past 30 days.
    • Application fee: A check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine” for $60.
    • *At this time, it doesn’t appear that Maine requires the submission of fingerprint cards.*

After these steps are completed, the Maine State Police is legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Mailing Address
Department of Public Safety
Maine State Police
Special Investigations
164 State House Station
Augusta, Maine
04333-0164

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of kidnapping.
  5. You’ve been convicted of robbery.
  6. You’ve been convicted of burglary.
  7. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  8. Less than 5 years have elapsed from the date you were discharged from any sentences imposed as a result of a conviction or adjudication. Here, ‘sentences’ include commitment to juvenile correction or detention facilities, incarceration, probation and supervised release.
  9. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  10. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  11. You have a mental illness.
  12. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  13. You are a fugitive from justice.
  14. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  15. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

It is unlawful to carry a handgun in the following locations without a concealed carry permit:

  • State parks.
  • Acadia National Park.
  • Regular archery hunting – deer only.
  • Employees’ vehicles on work premises (Permit required; vehicle must be locked and firearm must not be visible; 26 M.R.S. §600

With a Concealed Carry Permit

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • School grounds.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • State Capitol area.
  • Allagash Wilderness Waterway (open carry not permitted).
  • Wildlife Sanctuaries.
  • At any labor dispute (strikes).
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • Jails, prisons, or other correctional facilities.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • Establishments licensed for on-premises consumption of liquor, if the premises are posted.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout ME

Age 21+

Whether you have a concealed carry permit or not, as long as you are 21 years of age and can legally possess a handgun, you may transport a loaded handgun on your person (open or concealed) in a vehicle.

Age 18-21

If you are between 18 and 21 years old, and you legally possess a firearm, you must transport the firearm in the following manner:

  • The firearm must be unloaded.
  • The firearm must be secured in a container or case.

Additional Notes About ME Handgun Law

Does ME Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

No.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does ME Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Sort of.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Per ME law, for your use of deadly force to be protected under their castle doctrine, you must first demand the trespasser leaves before using deadly force. You don’t need to make the demand if you reasonably believe it would be dangerous to do so. See the Maine criminal code that covers this here.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does ME Recognize?

ME honors the concealed carry permit of another state so long as all of the following applies:

  1. The permit was issued to a resident of the state; non-resident permits are not recognized
  2. The permit holder is 18 or older
  3. The state honors the ME concealed carry permit

Therefore, the colored map in the section below shows (1) states that recognize the ME concealed carry permit and (2) state concealed carry permits that ME recognizes.

Reciprocity – Where is the ME Permit Recognized?

The ME concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

ME Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>