Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside in Louisiana
- Valid for 5 years or lifetime – you choose
Costs – 5 year Permit
- $125 (+$50 if you haven’t continuously resided in Louisiana for the 15 years before applying)
- Age 65 or older: $62.50 (+$50 if you haven’t continuously resided in Louisiana for the 15 years before applying)
Costs – Lifetime Permit
- $500 (+$50 if you haven’t continuously resided in Louisiana for the 15 years before applying)
- Age 65 or older: $250 (+$50 if you haven’t continuously resided in Louisiana for the 15 years before applying)
Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 18 years old and can legally possess a firearm may open carry. No permit is required in this case.
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Louisiana is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get a concealed carry permit in Louisiana, you will apply online with The Louisiana Department of Public Safety.
- Complete an approved firearm training course with live fire that covers the following elements:
- Handgun nomenclature.
- Safe handling.
- Ammunition knowledge and handgun shooting fundamentals.
- Handgun shooting positions.
- The use of deadly force and conflict resolution which must include a review of R.S. 14:18 through 14:22 and possibly a review of any other laws relating to the use of deadly force.
- Child access prevention.
- Live fire at a range.
- Proper handgun cleaning.
- Note: Check with The Louisiana Department of Public Safety to make sure the course you take is approved. See a full list of approved registered instructors here.
- Complete the application online here.
- Go to your local law enforcement agency to get 2 complete sets of fingerprints taken. These are needed to initiate a criminal background check. The cost for this varies, but should be minimal.
- Submit the following items to the Louisiana State Police by mail at the address listed below:
- A copy of the certificate that proves you completed a LA approved handgun competency course.
- A copy of your LA state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- 2 fingerprint cards.
- A color frontal photograph of yourself from the past 30 days. The photo must be passport style (2 inches by 2 inches) from the shoulders up.
- Application Fee: This fee may be assessed through the online application. If not, you’ll need a check or money order made payable to the “Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections“. Check the Types of Concealed Carry Permits section above to see how much this fee will be based on your age and the duration of your license.
After these steps are completed, the LA State Police is legally required to inform you in 90 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. You will be notified by mail. All denials may be appealed.
Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Office of State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
P.O. Box 66375 Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of kidnapping.
- You’ve been convicted of robbery.
- You’ve been convicted of burglary.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Indian reservations.
- Post offices.
- Military bases.
- School property, including colleges and universities. This includes within 1000 feet of school property.
- State owned hospital grounds or buildings.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Law enforcement buildings.
- Jails, prisons, or other correctional facilities.
- Psychiatric hospitals or mental institutions.
- A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision.
- The state capitol building.
- Polling places.
- Places of worship.
- A parade or demonstration for which a permit was issued.
- Bars, or portions of establishments licensed to dispense alcohol for consumption on the premises.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout LA
With a Concealed Carry Permit
If you have a LA or LA recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a loaded handgun on your person in a vehicle.
Without a Concealed Carry Permit
If you legally possess a handgun, but do not have a LA or LA recognized concealed carry permit, may open carry a loaded handgun on your person in a vehicle.
Additional Notes About LA Handgun Law
Does LA Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does LA Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does LA Recognize?
LA honors the concealed carry permit of another state so long as all of the following applies:
- The permit holder is 21 or older
- The state honors the LA concealed carry permit
Therefore, the colored map in the section below shows (1) states that recognize the LA concealed carry permit and (2) state concealed carry permits that LA recognizes.
Reciprocity – Where is the LA Permit Recognized?
The LA concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states: