Page Last Modified: Mar 3, 2017 @ 8:51 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

1) Residents

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Must reside in Indiana
  • Valid for 4 years or for your entire lifetime – you choose 1 of the 2 terms
  • Costs $40 for 4 years or $125 for lifetime

2) Non-Residents

  • Must be a minimum of 18 years old to apply
  • Must have a place of business or some form of employment in Indiana
  • Valid for 4 years
  • Costs $40

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Indiana is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Residents

To get a concealed carry permit in Indiana, you are required to apply online through the Indiana State Police online handgun license application portal. In your online application indicate your county of residence. This will notify the proper sheriff of your application.

  1. Start and complete your application online here. Pay the state fee of $30 (4 year permit) or $75 (lifetime permit). Write down your application number, you’ll need this in step 3.
    • Note: After completing step 1, you only have 90 days to complete steps 2 and 3.
  2. Get a complete set of fingerprints taken. Schedule this through an Indiana State Police approved agency here.
  3. Go to the law enforcement (sheriff or municipal police) agency in your county of residence. Bring the following items:
    • Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • Your application number from step 1.
    • Local fee: $10 (for 4 year license) or $50 (for lifetime license).

After these steps are completed, your application will be sent to the Indiana State Police. The Indiana State Police are then legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Non-Residents

To get a concealed carry permit in Indiana, you are required to apply online through the Indiana State Police online handgun license application portal. In your online application indicate the county of your place of business or employment. This will notify the proper sheriff of your application.

  1. Start and complete your application online here. Pay the state fee of $30 (4 year permit). Write down your application number, you’ll need this in step 3.
    • Note: After completing step 1, you only have 90 days to complete steps 2 and 3.
  2. Get a complete set of fingerprints taken. Schedule this through an Indiana State Police approved agency here.
  3. Go to the law enforcement (sheriff or municipal police) agency in the county you’re applying through (same county as your place of business or place of employment). Bring the following items:
    • Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • Your application number from step 1.
    • Local fee: $10 (for 4 year license).

After these steps are completed, your application will be sent to the Indiana State Police. The Indiana State Police are then legally required to inform you in 60 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

If the applicant meets any of the following conditions, his/her application is almost guaranteed to be denied:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You’ve been convicted for resisting law enforcement within the last 5 years.
  6. You’ve been adjudicated as a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, and you are less than 23 years of age.
  7. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  8. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  9. You have a mental illness.
  10. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  11. You’ve been ordered by a court to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program in the last 3 years.
  12. You are a fugitive from justice.
  13. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  14. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • School property.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • Any children’s institution overseen by Child Welfare Services.
  • Airports.
  • In any aircraft.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • Riverboat casinos.
  • On the fairgrounds at the annual Indiana State Fair.
  • At any shipping ports or shipping port property.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout IN

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have an IN or IN recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess an IN or IN recognized concealed carry permit, you must abide by the following guidelines when transporting a handgun through (from another state into IN) and throughout (within IN) the state:

  • You must legally possess the firearm.
  • The firearm must be unloaded and secured in a case.
  • The firearm (and ammunition) cannot be readily accessible by the driver or any passengers.

Additional Notes About IN Handgun Law

Does IN Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

Yes.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does IN Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does IN Recognize?

ALL. IN honors every other states’ concealed carry permits. However, you must be 21 years old or older for your permit to be honored.

Reciprocity – Where is the IN Permit Recognized?

The IN concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

IN Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

  1. Hi there, I read through a few of your articles
    here. I did have a question though that I hope you could answer.
    I was wondering, What does it take to become an officer of the Los Angeles Police Department?
    I just graduated and I’m interested in becoming a cop there.

    I would really appreciate any help you could give me!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>