Page Last Modified: Mar 3, 2017 @ 8:51 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

Note: Illinois (IL) sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a concealed carry license (CCL).

1) Resident or Non-Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Issued to residents of Illinois and U.S. citizens
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $150 for residents (+$Sheriff’s fee +$Fingerprints taken +$Safety Course)
  • Costs $300 for non-residents (+$Sheriff’s fee +$Fingerprints taken +$Safety Course)

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

Sort of – Illinois law says that a person with a concealed carry license may carry a handgun concealed or partially concealed. The bottom line is that the firearm cannot be fully unconcealed.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Illinois is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

Residents

All those who wish to apply for an IL concealed carry license will apply through the Illinois State Police.

1) Get a Firearm Owners Identification card (FOID)

Apply for the FOID through the Illinois State Police here. If you qualify for a concealed carry permit (see Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved section below to check that you qualify), then you qualify for an FOID. Find more information on the Illinois FOID card here.

You’ll need the following items to apply:

  1. Your Illinois state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
  2. A color photograph of yourself taken in the last 30 days. This photo must be taken from the shoulders up.
  3. Application fee: $10.

After these steps are completed, the Illinois State Police is legally required to process your application and issue/deny a license in 30 days or less. All denials may be appealed.

2) Apply For the Concealed Carry Permit

After getting your FOID, you are eligible to apply for an IL concealed carry license by completing the following steps:

  1. Complete a firearms training course that is approved by the Illinois State Police. Find an approved instructor here. The course must be a minimum of 16 hours and cover the following:
    • Firearms safety.
    • Principles of marksmanship.
    • Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm.
    • Illinois state and federal laws relating to ownership, storage, carry and transport of a firearm.
    • Appropriate interaction with law enforcement while carrying a concealed firearm.
    • Proof of passing a live fire exercise including a minimum of 30 rounds using a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police. (Must hit the target with 70% of the rounds fired)
      • 10 rounds from 5 yards
      • 10 rounds from 7 yards
      • 10 rounds from 10 yards
    • Note: Up to 8 hours of previous training can be counted toward the 16 hours if the training is approved by the Illinois State Police and recognized by another state. See if any of your previously taken training qualifies here. The remaining 8 hours of training must cover the above topics and the above range exercises.
  2. Go to a local law enforcement agency to get a complete set of fingerprints taken. These are needed to conduct your criminal background investigation. The cost for this varies, but should be minimal.
  3. Apply online for the concealed carry license with the Department of State Police here. You’ll need to include the following items with your application:
    • A copy of your FOID card.
    • Your firearms training course certificate or other evidence that proves you completed an approved course.
    • Your IL state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • A complete set of fingerprints.
    • A recent color photograph of yourself from the shoulders up, taken in the last 30 days. The Illinois State Police will tell you the exact size requirements of the photograph.
    • Application fee: $150.
    • If you were born outside the U.S. you’ll need to provide a copy of 1 of the following to prove you are legally in the U.S.:
      • A copy of your U.S. Passport
      • Certificate of Naturalization
      • Resident Alien Card
      • Record of Birth Abroad to U.S. citizens
      • Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel

After these steps are completed, the Illinois State Police is legally required to process your application and issue/deny a license in 90 days or less. All denials may be appealed.

Non-Residents

All those who wish to apply for an IL concealed carry license will apply through the Illinois State Police.

  1. Complete a firearms training course that is approved by the Illinois State Police. Find an approved instructor here. The course must be a minimum of 16 hours and cover the following:
    • Firearms safety.
    • Principles of marksmanship.
    • Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm.
    • Illinois state and federal laws relating to ownership, storage, carry and transport of a firearm.
    • Appropriate interaction with law enforcement while carrying a concealed firearm.
    • Proof of passing a live fire exercise including a minimum of 30 rounds using a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police. (Must hit the target with 70% of the rounds fired)
      • 10 rounds from 5 yards
      • 10 rounds from 7 yards
      • 10 rounds from 10 yards
    • Note: Up to 8 hours of previous training can be counted toward the 16 hours if the training is approved by the Illinois State Police and recognized by another state. See if any of your previously taken training qualifies here. The remaining 8 hours of training must cover the above topics and the above range exercises.
  2. Go to a local law enforcement agency to get a complete set of fingerprints taken. These are needed to conduct your criminal background investigation. The cost for this varies, but should be minimal.
  3. Apply online for the concealed carry license with the Illinois State Police here. You’ll need to include the following items with your application:
    • Your firearms training course certificate or other evidence that proves you completed an approved course.
    • Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • A copy of your state issued concealed carry license.
    • A complete set of fingerprints.
    • A recent color photograph of yourself from the shoulders up, taken in the last 30 days. The Illinois State Police will tell you the exact size requirements of the photograph.
    • Application fee: $300.
    • If you were born outside the U.S. you’ll need to provide a copy of 1 of the following to prove you are legally in the U.S.:
      • A copy of your U.S. Passport
      • Certificate of Naturalization
      • Resident Alien Card
      • Record of Birth Abroad to U.S. citizens
      • Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel

After these steps are completed, the Illinois State Police is legally required to process your application and issue/deny a license in 90 days or less. All denials may be appealed.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You are currently being indicted for a felony.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  5. You’ve been convicted of a misdemeanor crime involving the threat of force within the last 5 years.
  6. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  7. You are subject to a restraining or other similar court order.
  8. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  9. You’ve been convicted of 2 or more offenses involving driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the last 5 years.
  10. You have a mental illness.
  11. You have received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  12. You’ve participated in any alcohol or drug-treatment program in the last 5 years.
  13. You are a fugitive from justice.
  14. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  15. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • School property, including colleges and universities.
  • College and professional sports facilities.
  • Libraries.
  • Child care facilities.
  • Public gatherings and special events on property open to the public that requires a permit issued by a unit of local government (street fairs, “taste of” events, festivals, etc.).
  • Any building or property issued a Special Event Retailers License for the sale of alcohol.
  • Public playgrounds.
  • Amusement parks.
  • Zoos.
  • Museums.
  • Nuclear power plants, other facilities regulated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
  • Parks and athletic fields under the control of a city or park district (does not include a trail or bike path, if only a portion of the trail or bike path includes a public park).
  • Property under control of the Cook County Forest Preserve District.
  • State property, including the executive, legislative and judicial branches.
  • Local government buildings.
  • Gaming facilities, horse racing tracks, and off-track betting parlors.
  • Hospitals.
  • Mental health facilities.
  • Nursing homes.
  • On public transportation, including on any property (buildings, parking lots) operated by a public transportation organization.
  • Bars.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • Jails, prisons, or other correctional facilities.
  • Juvenile detention facilities.
  • Airports.
  • Anywhere a “No Guns” sign is posted.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout IL

With an IL Concealed Carry Permit

If you have an IL concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

With Another State’s Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess an IL concealed carry permit, but you have a concealed carry permit in another state, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person. If you leave your vehicle, the firearm must be kept in a locked container, or the vehicle must be locked.

Without any Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess a concealed carry permit anywhere, follow these guidelines when transporting a handgun in a vehicle through (from another state into IL) and throughout (within IL) the state:

  1. You must legally possess the firearm.
  2. The firearm must be unloaded and enclosed in a case or container.
  3. The firearm cannot be immediately accessible.

Additional Notes About IL Handgun Law

Does IL Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

Sort of.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

In Illinois, you must be able to demonstrate that you believed be able to prove (1) there was an imminent threat to you, someone else, or your property (2) the threat was unlawful, (3) force was required to mitigate the threat, and (4) your use of force was equal to the threat.

Does IL Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Sort of.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

In Illinois, you must be able to demonstrate that you believed be able to prove (1) there was an imminent threat to you, someone else, or your property (2) the threat was unlawful, (3) force was required to mitigate the threat, and (4) your use of force was equal to the threat.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does IL Recognize?

None. IL does not honor any other states’ concealed carry permits.

Reciprocity – Where is the IL Permit Recognized?

The IL concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

IL Concealed Weapons License Reciprocity

 

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>