Page Last Modified: Aug 14, 2018 @ 7:19 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

Note: Idaho (ID) sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a concealed weapons license (CWL).

1) (Normal) Resident or Non-Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Issued to residents of Idaho or U.S. citizens
    • Note: Residents between 18 and 21 can apply for a concealed weapons license and shall be issued one if they would otherwise meet the requirements for issuance of a license. In this case, the license expires on the licensee’s 21st birthday.
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $20 (+$Sheriff’s fee +$Fingerprints taken +$Safety Course)

2) Enhanced

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Issued to residents of Idaho or U.S. citizens
  • Must have resided in Idaho for at least 6 months, or must hold a current concealed carry permit
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $20 (+$Sheriff’s fee +$Fingerprints taken +$Safety Course)
  • Honored in more states than the ‘normal’ concealed weapons license

Note: Any resident or non-resident that is at least 18 years old and not disqualified under Idaho law from getting a concealed weapons license may concealed or open carry outside of any city. No permit is required in this case.

Note: Any resident that is at least 21 years old and not disqualified under Idaho law from getting a concealed weapons license may concealed or open carry. No permit is required in this case.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Idaho is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply – Normal CWL

Residents

To get a concealed carry permit as an Idaho resident, you apply to the sheriff in your county of residence. The sheriff will forward your completed application to the Idaho State Police for review.

  1. You must first demonstrate familiarity with firearms through one of the following methods:
    • Complete any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Department of Fish and Game or a similar agency of another state.
    • Complete any National Rifle Association firearms safety, firearms training, or hunter education course.
    • Complete any firearms safety or training course offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, university, firearms training school, or other organization that utilizes instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Idaho State Police.
    • Complete other training that the sheriff deems appropriate. Check with your county sheriff or the Idaho State Police to ensure the course you take is approved.
    • Have evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service.
    • Have a current concealed carry license.
  2. Go to sheriff’s office in your county of residence to complete the application in person. Bring the following items:
    • Evidence from step 1 above that demonstrates your familiarity with firearms.
    • Your Idaho state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • Application fee: $20.
    • Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    • If you were born outside the U.S. you’ll need to provide a copy of 1 of the following to prove you are legally in the U.S.:
      • A copy of your U.S. Passport
      • Certificate of Naturalization
      • Resident Alien Card
      • Record of Birth Abroad to U.S. citizens
      • Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel
    • Sheriff’s fee: this fee varies, but will cover the sheriff’s cost of processsing your fingerprints.
  3. The sheriff’s office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to be used to conduct your criminal background investigation.

After these steps are completed, the Idaho State Police is legally required to process your application and issue/deny a license in 90 days or less. All denials may be appealed.

Non-residents

If you are applying from out of state, you can apply by mail in whichever county you please. If you wish to apply in person, follow the steps in the Residents section directly above. The sheriff will forward your completed application to the Idaho State Police for review.

  1. You must first demonstrate familiarity with firearms through one of the following methods:
    • Complete any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Department of Fish and Game or a similar agency of another state.
    • Complete any National Rifle Association firearms safety, firearms training, or hunter education course.
    • Complete any firearms safety or training course offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, university, firearms training school, or other organization that utilizes instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Idaho State Police.
    • Complete other training that the sheriff deems appropriate. Check with your county sheriff or the Idaho State Police to ensure the course you take is approved.
    • Have evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service.
    • Have a current concealed carry license.
  2. Contact the sheriff’s office in the county you wish to apply. Have them mail you an application.
  3. Go to a local law enforcement agency to get a complete set of fingerprints taken. These are needed to conduct your criminal background investigation. The cost for this varies, but should be minimal.
  4. Complete and return the application, making sure to include the following items:
    • Evidence from step 1 above that demonstrates your familiarity with firearms.
    • Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • A complete set of fingerprints.
    • A recent passport style color photograph of yourself. Ask the department that sent you the application to clarify the exact requirements of the photograph.
    • Application fee: $20.
    • Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    • If you were born outside the U.S. you’ll need to provide a copy of 1 of the following to prove you are legally in the U.S.:
      • A copy of your U.S. Passport
      • Certificate of Naturalization
      • Resident Alien Card
      • Record of Birth Abroad to U.S. citizens
      • Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel

After these steps are completed, the Idaho State Police is legally required to process your application and issue/deny a license in 90 days or less. All denials may be appealed.

Process to Apply – Enhanced CWL

To qualify for an Idaho enhanced concealed weapons license, you must be 21 years old and either (1) be an Idaho resident for at least the past 6 months or (2) have a concealed carry permit from another state. If these conditions apply, follow the steps below to get the enhanced license.

Residents

To get an enhanced concealed carry permit as an Idaho resident, you apply to the sheriff in your county of residence. The sheriff will forward your completed application to the Idaho State Police for review.

  1. Complete an approved handgun course that meets the following requirements:
    • The instructor is certified by the National Rifle Association, or by another nationally recognized organization that customarily certifies firearms instructors, as an instructor in personal protection with handguns, or the course instructor is certified by the Idaho Peace Officers Standards and Training Council as a firearms instructor.
    • The course is at least 8 hours long.
    • The course is taught in person.
    • The course includes instruction in:
      • Idaho law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force, provided that such instruction is delivered by either of the following whose name and credential must appear on the certificate:
        • An active licensed member of the Idaho state bar.
        • A law enforcement officer who possesses an intermediate or higher Idaho peace officers standards and training certificate.
      • The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns.
      • Self-defense principles.
      • Live fire training including the firing of at least 98 rounds by the student.
  2. Go to sheriff’s office in your county of residence to complete the application in person. Bring the following items:
    • Evidence from step 1 above that demonstrates your completion of an approved handgun course.
    • Your Idaho state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • Application fee: $20.
    • Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    • If you were born outside the U.S. you’ll need to provide a copy of 1 of the following to prove you are legally in the U.S.:
      • A copy of your U.S. Passport
      • Certificate of Naturalization
      • Resident Alien Card
      • Record of Birth Abroad to U.S. citizens
      • Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel
    • Sheriff’s fee: this fee varies, but will cover the sheriff’s cost of processsing your fingerprints.
  3. The sheriff’s office will then take a complete set of fingerprints to be used to conduct your criminal background investigation.

After these steps are completed, the Idaho State Police is legally required to process your application and issue/deny a license in 90 days or less. All denials may be appealed.

Non-residents

If you are applying from out of state, you can apply by mail in whichever county you please. If you wish to apply in person, follow the steps in the Residents section directly above. The sheriff will forward your completed application to the Idaho State Police for review.

  1. Complete an approved handgun course that meets the following requirements:
    • The instructor is certified by the National Rifle Association, or by another nationally recognized organization that customarily certifies firearms instructors, as an instructor in personal protection with handguns, or the course instructor is certified by the Idaho Peace Officers Standards and Training Council as a firearms instructor.
    • The course is at least 8 hours long.
    • The course is taught in person.
    • The course includes instruction in:
      • Idaho law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force, provided that such instruction is delivered by either of the following whose name and credential must appear on the certificate:
        • An active licensed member of the Idaho state bar.
        • A law enforcement officer who possesses an intermediate or higher Idaho peace officers standards and training certificate.
      • The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns.
      • Self-defense principles.
      • Live fire training including the firing of at least 98 rounds by the student.
  2. Contact the sheriff’s office in the county you wish to apply. Have them mail you an application.
  3. Go to a local law enforcement agency to get a complete set of fingerprints taken. These are needed to conduct your criminal background investigation. The cost for this varies, but should be minimal.
  4. Complete and return the application, making sure to include the following items:
    • Evidence from step 1 above that demonstrates your completion of an approved handgun course.
    • Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • Your current concealed carry license.
    • A complete set of fingerprints.
    • A recent passport style color photograph of yourself. Ask the department that sent you the application to clarify the exact requirements of the photograph.
    • Application fee: $20.
    • Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    • If you were born outside the U.S. you’ll need to provide a copy of 1 of the following to prove you are legally in the U.S.:
      • A copy of your U.S. Passport
      • Certificate of Naturalization
      • Resident Alien Card
      • Record of Birth Abroad to U.S. citizens
      • Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel

After these steps are completed, the Idaho State Police is legally required to process your application and issue/deny a license in 90 days or less. All denials may be appealed.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You are currently being indicted for a felony.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  5. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  6. You are subject to a restraining or other similar court order.
  7. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  8. You have a mental illness.
  9. You have received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  10. You are a fugitive from justice.
  11. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  12. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • School grounds.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • Jails, prisons, or other correctional facilities.
  • Juvenile detention facilities.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout ID

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have an ID or ID recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit – Loaded

If you do not possess an ID or ID recognized concealed carry permit, you are eligible to transport a loaded handgun in a vehicle through (from another state into ID) and throughout (within ID) the state in the following cases:

  1. You are an ID resident, at least 21 years old, and not disqualified under Idaho law from getting a concealed weapons license. The handgun can be on your person, and concealed or in plain view.
  2. You legally possess the firearm and it is located in plain view.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit – Unloaded

Alternatively, you can transport an unloaded handgun that you legally possess through and throughout the state in one of the following ways:

  1. The firearm is unloaded and secured in a case.
  2. The firearm is unloaded and concealed
  3. The firearm is disassembled, rendering it not readily operable.

Additional Notes About ID Handgun Law

Does ID Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

No.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does ID Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Sort of.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

In Idaho, if you use force on an intruder in your home, you must prove that there was an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does ID Recognize?

ALL. ID honors every other states’ concealed carry permits.

Reciprocity – Where is the ID Permit Recognized?

The ID concealed weapons license is recognized in the following states:

ID Reciprocity 14 August 2018

 

Page Updates

  • August 14, 2018 – PA now recognizes ID Resident Enhanced permit – graphic updated.

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>