Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
**Note: A Hawaii concealed carry permit hasn’t been issued in years, if ever.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Must reside in Hawaii
- Valid for up to 1 year – this varies depending on your county of residence
- Only valid in the county you reside
- Costs $42 to apply in Honolulu (cost is unclear if applying elsewhere)
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
Yes – you must carry concealed with a concealed carry permit.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Hawaii is a may issue state, meaning the law states that they may issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply – Residents
Contact the chief of police in your county of residence for details on how to apply. To even be considered for a HI concealed carry permit per Hawaii law HRS 134-9, an applicant needs to show reason to fear injury to his/her person or property. Since a Hawaii concealed carry permit hasn’t been issued in years, the details on how to apply aren’t readily available or published. For this reason, here is the likely procedure on how to apply for a Hawaii concealed carry permit:
- Complete a handgun safety training course. Contact the police department in your county of residence to ensure the course you take is approved.
- If you can show valid reason to fear injury to yourself or to your property, go to the police department in your county of residence. If you cannot, per Hawaii law HRS 134-9, you won’t even be considered for a concealed carry permit. Bring the following items to the police department:
- Present your HI state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
- Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
- Proof you’ve completed an approved handgun safety training course.
- Get a complete set of fingerprints taken. The department you’re applying to should provide this service.
- Submit to a criminal background investigation through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System. This will be conducted by your county police department.
There is not currently a HI law that requires a specific turnaround time on concealed carry permit applications. Ask your local county police department for an estimate as to how long your application will take to be processed.
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
If you meet any of the following conditions, your application is almost guaranteed to be denied:
- You cannot show valid reason to fear injury to yourself or to your property.
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You’ve been ordered by a court to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program in the last 3 years.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Indian reservations.
- Post offices.
- Military bases.
- On any school property (if you’re a student).
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout HI
With a Concealed Carry Permit
If you have a HI concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.
Without a Concealed Carry Permit – Throughout HI
If you do not possess a HI concealed carry permit, you must abide by the following when transporting a handgun throughout (within) the state:
- You must legally possess the firearm.
- The firearm must be unloaded and secured in an enclosed container.
- The firearm (and ammunition) cannot be readily accessible by the driver or any passengers.
- The firearm and the ammunition cannot be stored in the glove compartment or passenger console.
- If the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the glove compartment, the firearm and ammunition must be stored locked within a compartment/container that is securely affixed to the vehicle’s interior.
- Every person arriving in the State who brings or by any other manner causes to be brought into the State a firearm of any description, whether usable or unusable, serviceable or unserviceable, modern or antique, shall register the firearm within three days after arrival of the person or of the firearm, whichever arrives later, with the chief of police of the county of the person’s place of business or, if there is no place of business, the person’s residence or, if there is neither a place of business nor residence, the person’s place of sojourn
- A nonresident alien may bring firearms not otherwise prohibited by law into the State for a continuous period not to exceed ninety days
Without a Concealed Carry Permit – Into HI
If you do not possess a HI concealed carry permit, you are eligible to transport a handgun into the state if your purpose falls into one of the categories below:
- You have a valid Hawaii hunting license, or a commercial or private shooting preserve permit.
- You have a written document that states you’ve been invited to Hawaii to shoot on private land.
- You have written notification from a firing range or target shooting business that states you will engage in target shooting.
If your transportation falls into one of the cases above, you must abide by the following guidelines when transporting the handgun into the state:
- You must legally possess the firearm.
- The firearm must be unloaded and secured.
- The firearm needs to be registered within 3 days after arrival of the person or of the firearm, whichever arrives later, with the chief of police of the county of the person’s place of business or, if there is no place of business, the person’s residence or, if there is neither a place of business nor residence, the person’s place of sojourn.
- If you aren’t a Hawaii resident, your firearm cannot remain in Hawaii for more than 90 days.
Additional Notes About HI Handgun Law
Does HI Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does HI Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Large Capacity Magazines, i.e. any magazine that can accept greater than 10 rounds of ammunition are banned in HI.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does HI Recognize?
None. HI does not honor any other states’ permits.
Reciprocity – Where is the HI Permit Recognized?
The HI concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states: