Page Last Modified: Nov 4, 2017 @ 2:32 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

Note: Georgia (GA) sometimes refers to their concealed carry permit as a weapons carry license.

1) Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside in Georgia
  • Valid for 5 years
  • Costs $70-$90, depending on your county of residence.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed with a weapons carry license.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Georgia is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

To get a weapons carry license (concealed carry permit) in Georgia, you are required to apply in person in your county of residence at the County Probate Court. Find your local County Probate Court here.

  1. Go to your local County Probate Court to apply in person. Bring the following items with you:
    1. State issued I.D. or drivers license
    2. U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation to prove you are lawfully in the United States. This documentation isn’t required in all counties, but you should bring it just in case.
    3. 1 self-addressed stamped envelope
  2. Complete and submit the application.
  3. Go to a law enforcement agency, or other vendor approved by the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, to get fingerprints taken so a criminal background check may be conducted. The County Probate Court will direct you where to go.
    • Note: The cost of this service varies, but should be minimal, likely around $5.

After these steps are completed, the County Probate Court is legally required to inform you in 40 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. The law enforcement agency conducting your background check has 30 days to inform the County Probate Court of any findings that may prevent you from getting a weapons carry license. After that, the Judge of the County Probate Court is given 10 days to issue or deny you a license. All denials may be appealed.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  6. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  7. You have a mental illness.
  8. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  9. You are a fugitive from justice.
  10. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  11. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
  12. You’ve been convicted of an offense related to the unlawful manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug.
  13. You’ve been convicted of a violation for carrying a weapon or long gun in an unauthorized location within 5 years of applying.
  14. You’ve been convicted of a violation for carrying a weapon without a license within 5 years of applying.
  15. You’ve been in an alcohol or drug treatment center within 5 years of applying.
  16. You’ve ever been adjudicated mentally incompetent to stand trial for a crime.
  17. You’ve ever been adjudicated not guilty of a crime by reason of insanity.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • Polling places.
    • Note: This rule doesn’t apply if the building is open for business, and if ingress to the building is not restricted or screened by security personnel.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • Jails, prisons, or other correctional facilities.
  • Places of worship, unless authorized by the place of worship’s governing body.
  • Nuclear power facilities.
  • Psychiatric hospitals or mental institutions.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • School property.
    • Note: You can carry at a school function if you’ve been given authorization to do so, in writing, by an authorized school official.
    • Note: You can carry when picking up a student if you remain in your vehicle. Or, upon exiting your vehicle, the firearm is secured in a locked compartment or container inside the vehicle.
  • At school functions.
    • Note: You can carry at a school function if you’ve been given authorization to do so, in writing, by an authorized school official.
    • Note: You can carry when picking up a student if you remain in your vehicle. Or, upon exiting your vehicle, the firearm is secured in a locked compartment or container inside the vehicle.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout GA

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have a GA weapons carry license or GA recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess a GA weapons carry license or GA recognized concealed carry permit, you can still transport a loaded handgun on your person through (from another state into GA) and throughout (within GA) the state. Georgia law defines 2 scenarios, and the criteria for each, in which carrying a loaded handgun on your person is legal:

1) In Your Own Vehicle

  • You must legally possess the firearm.

2) In Someone Else’s Privately Owned Vehicle

  • You must legally possess the firearm.
  • The owner allows you to possess a handgun in his/her vehicle.
  • You must be eligible to obtain a weapons carry license.

Additional Notes About GA Handgun Law

Does GA Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

Yes.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does GA Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does GA Recognize?

GA honors the concealed carry permit of another state so long as all of the following applies:

  1. The permit was issued to a resident of the state; non-resident permits are not recognized
  2. The permit holder is 21 or older
  3. The state honors the GA concealed carry permit

Therefore, the colored map in the section below shows (1) states that recognize the GA concealed carry permit and (2) state concealed carry permits that GA recognizes.

Go here for more information on reciprocity.

Reciprocity – Where is the GA Permit Recognized?

The GA concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

GA Weapons Carry License Reciprocity

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>