Page Last Modified: Dec 2, 2017 @ 2:32 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

1) Resident or Non-Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Valid for 7 years
  • Costs $102, although depending on where you apply you may pay additional application processing, fingerprinting, and training course fees.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

Yes. Open carry is illegal in Florida.

However, if you have a FL or FL recognized concealed carry permit, you may briefly and openly display the firearm to the ordinary sight of another person, unless the firearm is intentionally displayed in a threatening or angry manner, not in necessary self defense.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Florida is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

To get a concealed carry permit in Florida, you can apply online, in person, or by mail.

Apply Online

  1. Begin the application online here.  You’ll need the following items to complete the application:
    • Proof from step 2 below that shows you are competent with a firearm.
    • Your FL state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • A U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    • A digital passport style (2 inches x 2 inches) color photograph taken of yourself within the last 30 days. Consult the application for additional photograph specifications.
    • A debit or credit card to pay the various fees. The fees are similar to those described in the Apply in Person section below.
  2. Methods to prove you are competent with a firearm:
    1. Present one of these documents with your application to prove you are active-duty military:
      • Your call to active-duty letter.
      • A statement of military service signed by, or at the direction of, the adjutant, personnel officer, or commander of your unit or higher headquarters which identifies you and provides your date of entry for your current active-duty period.
    2. Present your DD Form 214 with your application to show you were honorably discharged from the military.
    3. Provide evidence with your application that shows you have participated in an organized shooting competition.
    4. Take one of the following approved handgun training courses that includes live fire:
      • A hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or a similar agency in another state.
      • An in person National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course that includes live fire.
      • A firearms safety or training course offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school. The course must have instructors that are certified by the National Rifle Association, the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission, or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
      • A law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for security officers, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement.
      • A firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified instructor or by an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association.
      • Note: check with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer services to ensure the course you take is approved.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 90 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. Recent turnaround times have been reported to be between 50 and 55 days. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Apply in Person

This method is recommended when applying for a Florida concealed carry permit as a resident. You can apply in person at a regional Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services office or at an authorized Florida tax collector’s office.

  1. Make an appointment at one of the following offices (1) a regional Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services office or (2) an authorized Florida tax collector’s office.
    • Find an office near you here.
  2. Prove you are competent with a firearm. This can be accomplished in one of the following ways:
    1. Present one of these documents with your application to prove you are active-duty military:
      • Your call to active-duty letter.
      • A statement of military service signed by, or at the direction of, the adjutant, personnel officer, or commander of your unit or higher headquarters which identifies you and provides your date of entry for your current active-duty period.
    2. Present your DD Form 214 with your application to show you were honorably discharged from the military.
    3. Provide evidence with your application that shows you have participated in an organized shooting competition.
    4. Take one of the following approved handgun training courses that includes live fire:
      • A hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or a similar agency in another state.
      • An in person National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course that includes live fire.
      • A firearms safety or training course offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school. The course must have instructors that are certified by the National Rifle Association, the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission, or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
      • A law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for security officers, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement.
      • A firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified instructor or by an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association.
      • Note: check with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer services to ensure the course you take is approved.
  3. Attend the appointment you made in step 1. You will complete the concealed carry permit application at your appointment. Bring the following items with you:
    • Proof from step 2 above that shows you are competent with a firearm.
    • Your FL state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • A U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    • A passport style (2 inches x 2 inches) color photograph taken of yourself within the last 30 days. Consult the application for additional photograph specifications.
      • Note: If you apply in person at a regional Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services office, they will take your picture during your appointment.
    • License fee: A check or money order made payable to the “Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services” for $60.
    • A complete set of fingerprints, or a receipt for your electronic fingerprint submission.
      • Note: If you apply in person at a regional Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services office, they will take your fingerprints during your appointment.
    • Fingerprint Processing fee: A check or money order made payable to the “Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services” for $42. This is not required if you got fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency and they were electronically sent over.
    • Tax Collector fee: If you apply through a tax collector, you will need to pay a fee no greater than $22 to cover his/her processing of your application.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 90 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. Recent turnaround times have been reported to be between 50 and 55 days. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Apply by Mail

This method is recommended when applying for a Florida concealed carry permit as a non-resident.

  1. Download a Florida concealed carry permit application here.
  2. Order a fingerprint card to be mailed to you here.
  3. Prove you are competent with a firearm. This can be accomplished in one of the following ways:
    1. Present one of these documents with your application to prove you are active-duty military:
      • Your call to active-duty letter.
      • A statement of military service signed by, or at the direction of, the adjutant, personnel officer, or commander of your unit or higher headquarters which identifies you and provides your date of entry for your current active-duty period.
    2. Present your DD Form 214 with your application to show you were honorably discharged from the military.
    3. Provide evidence with your application that shows you have participated in an organized shooting competition.
    4. Take one of the following approved handgun training courses that includes live fire:
      • A hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or a similar agency in another state.
      • An in person National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course that includes live fire.
      • A firearms safety or training course offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school. The course must have instructors that are certified by the National Rifle Association, the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission, or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
      • A law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered for security officers, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement.
      • A firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified instructor or by an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association.
      • Note: check with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer services to ensure the course you take is approved.
  4. Get a complete set of fingerprints taken at your local law enforcement agency. This fee varies, but should be minimal.
  5. Complete your application and mail it to the address listed below, remembering to include the following items:
    • Proof from step 3 above that shows you are competent with a firearm.
    • Your state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    • A U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
    • A passport style (2 inches x 2 inches) color photograph taken of yourself within the last 30 days. Consult the application for additional photograph specifications.
    • License fee: A check or money order made payable to the “Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services” for $60.
    • A complete set of fingerprints, or a receipt for your electronic fingerprint submission.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 90 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. Recent turnaround times have been reported to be between 50 and 55 days. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Mailing Address
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You’ve been convicted of DUI 2 or more times within the last 3 years.
  6. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  7. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  8. You have a mental illness.
  9. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  10. You are a fugitive from justice.
  11. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  12. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Courthouses.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • School property or school administration buildings. This includes colleges and universities.
  • Vocational-technical centers.
  • Any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms.
  • At any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district.
  • At any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof.
  • Hospitals that provide mental health services.
  • Police, sheriff, or highway patrol stations.
  • Jails, prisons, or any other type of detention facility.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • Polling places.
  • Bars, or any portion of an establishment that dispenses alcohol for consumption on the premises.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • Any place of nuisance as defined in Florida Statute 823.05. A place of nuisance is essentially any location used by a criminal gang on 2 or more occasions.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout FL

With a Concealed Carry Permit

If you have a FL or FL recognized concealed carry permit, you may transport a handgun in a vehicle while it is loaded and on your person.

Without a Concealed Carry Permit

If you do not possess a FL or FL recognized concealed carry permit, you must abide by the following conditions when transporting a handgun through (from another state into FL) and throughout (within FL) the state:

  1. You must legally possess the firearm.
  2. The firearm must be securely encased. The following are locations a securely encased handgun can be:
    • Snapped in a holster. The holster cannot be on your hip or on the passenger’s seat, otherwise you are violating condition 3 below.
    • In the glove compartment.
    • In a gun case that closes (i.e. zippers closed, snaps closed, etc.).
    • In a closed container that requires a cover to be opened for access.
  3. The firearm cannot be readily accessible for immediate use.

Additional Notes About FL Handgun Law

Does FL Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

Yes.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does FL Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does FL Recognize?

FL honors the concealed carry permit of another state so long as all of the following applies:

  1. The permit was issued to a resident of the state; non-resident permits are not recognized
  2. The permit holder is 21 or older
  3. The state honors the FL concealed carry permit

Therefore, the colored map in the section below shows (1) states that recognize the FL concealed carry permit and (2) state concealed carry permits that FL recognizes.

 

Go here for more information on reciprocity.

Reciprocity – Where is the FL Permit Recognized?

The FL concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

FL Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity

Page Updates

  • December 1, 2017 – Info on applying online added to How to Apply section.

 

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>