Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.
Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.
Types of Concealed Carry Permits
1) Resident or Non-Resident
- Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
- Issued to residents of Arizona or U.S. citizens
- Valid for 5 years
- Costs $60 (+$Fingerprints taken +$Safety Course)
Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 21 years old and can legally possess a firearm may concealed or open carry. No permit is required in this case.
Is it Required to Carry Concealed?
No – you may open carry or carry concealed.
May Issue or Shall Issue?
Arizona is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.
Process to Apply
To get a concealed carry permit in Arizona you apply to the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
- To request an application packet, fill out the form on the left side of the page here. The package, which will be mailed to you, will contain the application to be filled out, as well as 2 fingerprint cards and the return envelope.
- Complete an AZ approved handgun safety course. Check with DPS or the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit to ensure the course you take is approved. Generally, the NRA’s courses, if taken in person, are approved in AZ.
- Using the 2 provided fingerprint cards, get fingerprinting done at your local police department. The fee for this service is usually minimal.
- Complete the application. Include the following items in the return envelope:
- Completed forms.
- The certificate that proves you completed an AZ approved handgun safety course. Some departments accept copies, others require the original certificate.
- Both completed fingerprint cards. These must be complete sets of fingerprints. These will be used to conduct a criminal background investigation.
- Application fee: $60 made payable to AZ DPS.
- Present a U.S. birth certificate, U.S. Passport, Alien Registration number (with 90-day proof of residency), or other legal documentation that proves you are lawfully in the United States.
- If you were born outside the U.S. you’ll need to provide a copy of 1 of the following:
- A copy of your U.S. Passport
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Resident Alien Card
- Record of Birth Abroad to U.S. citizens
- Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel
After these steps are completed, DPS is legally required to process your application in 60 days. They are then required to notify you of the results in 15 business days or less after processing the application. A denial may be appealed.
Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved
Your application is almost guaranteed to be denied if you meet any of the following conditions:
- You are illegally in the United States.
- You’ve been convicted of a felony.
- You are currently being indicted for a felony.
- You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
- You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
- You are subject to a restraining or other similar court order.
- You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
- You have a mental illness.
- You have received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are subject to a firearms seizure order.
Location Restrictions for Carrying
It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:
- Federal buildings.
- Federal prisons.
- Indian reservations.
- Post offices.
- Military bases.
- School grounds. However, you can keep the firearm in your vehicle on school grounds, as long as it is (1) unloaded, (2) secured, and (3) out of plain sight.
- Any government, private, or public event in which the event sponsor asks you to remove your weapon. Typically, a temporary firearm storage location exists at these events.
- Any government, private, or public establishment in which the establishment’s operator asks you to remove your weapon. Typically, a temporary firearm storage location exists at government establishments.
- Any nuclear or hydroelectric generating station.
- A place of polling on an election day.
- Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
- Jails, prisons, or other correctional facilities.
- Game preserves.
- National parks.
- Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout AZ
Whether you have a concealed carry permit or not, as long as you can legally possess a handgun you may transport a loaded handgun on your person (open or concealed) in a vehicle.
Additional Notes About AZ Handgun Law
Does AZ Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?
The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.
Does AZ Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?
The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.
This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.
Reciprocity – What State Permits Does AZ Recognize?
ALL. AZ honors every other states’ concealed carry permits.
Reciprocity – Where is the AZ Permit Recognized?
The AZ concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states: