Page Last Modified: Mar 3, 2017 @ 8:49 pm

Disclaimer: It is our goal to keep the information on this page, and this website, as up to date as possible. With that said, it is ultimately your responsibility to verify the handgun law in your states of interest. The information on this page is for informational purposes only. The information presented on this page and on this website is not legal advice, and should not be treated as such. This content is subject to change without notice. We recommend subscribing to be notified when the content on this page and on this site changes.

Note: The processes listed below apply to the majority of people. If you are active-duty military, honorably discharged military, law enforcement, or retired law enforcement, the processes below may be slightly different (easier) when applying for a concealed carry permit.

 

Types of Concealed Carry Permits

1) Resident

  • Must be a minimum of 21 years old to apply
  • Must reside in Alaska for a minimum of 90 days before applying
  • Valid for a maximum of 5 years – the permit expires on your fifth birthday after the date of issue, whenever this falls
  • Costs $87

Note: Any resident or non-resident that is 18 years old and can legally possess a firearm may concealed or open carry. No permit is required in this case.

Is it Required to Carry Concealed?

No – you may open carry or carry concealed.

May Issue or Shall Issue?

Alaska is a shall issue state, meaning the law states that they shall issue a permit if you meet all requirements.

Process to Apply

To get a concealed carry permit in Alaska, you can apply at any office of the Alaska State Troopers.

  1. Pick up an application from any office of the Alaska State Troopers.
  2. Complete a handgun competency course.
    • Note: Contact the Alaska State Troopers before taking a course to ensure it is approved. Namely, the course must address the following elements:
      • AK handgun law, including transportation, carrying, and using deadly force.
      • Self-defense.
      • Basic handgun usage, including how to use different types of handguns, how to carry, and proper storage.
      • Basic handgun mechanics, including loading, unloading, and how one mechanically functions.
  3. Get a complete set of fingerprints taken. This step should be completed beforehand by a law enforcement agency, or one of several other agencies approved by the Alaska State Troopers. Although the department doesn’t immediately need your fingerprints at the time of application, it is recommended that this be completed beforehand to speed up the process.
  4. Complete your application. The following items will be required in person at an office of the Alaska State Troopers to complete the application:
    1. Some sort of evidence that proves you completed an AK approved handgun competency course.
    2. Your AK state issued I.D. or driver’s license.
    3. A photograph of yourself from the past 30 days from the shoulders up; ask the Alaska State Troopers what size they require.
    4. Submit to a background investigation. This will include a criminal history check.

After these steps are completed, the department processing the application is legally required to inform you in 30 days or less whether the permit has been approved or denied. A denial, whether it be for a new issue or a renewal, may be appealed.

Reasons an Applicant Won’t Be Approved

If the applicant meets any of the following conditions, his/her application is almost guaranteed to be denied:

  1. You are illegally in the United States.
  2. You’ve been convicted of a felony.
  3. You’ve been convicted of a violent crime, including domestic violence.
  4. You’ve been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term greater than 1 year.
  5. You’ve been convicted of 2 or more class A misdemeanors within the last 6 years.
  6. You are subject to a restraining order or other similar court order.
  7. You are a drug addict, habitual drunkard, an unlawful user of any controlled substance, or are determined to be of unsound mind.
  8. You have a mental illness.
  9. You’ve received voluntary or involuntary treatment in a psychiatric hospital, mental institution, or similar treatment facility for any reason.
  10. You’ve been ordered by a court to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program in the last 3 years.
  11. You are a fugitive from justice.
  12. You’ve been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  13. You are subject to a firearms seizure order.

Location Restrictions for Carrying

It is unlawful to carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed carry permit, in the following locations:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Federal prisons.
  • Indian reservations.
  • Post offices.
  • Military bases.
  • On any school property, unless you have permission from the school district.
  • Passed the security checkpoint at airports.
  • Anywhere you decide to consume alcohol. You cannot carry a firearm if you consume any alcohol.
  • Any property of a child daycare facility. This does not include private residences.
  • Any property of an assisted living home or maternity home.
  • A courthouse, courtroom, or office of the Alaska Court System.
  • A state funded, or partially state funded, domestic violence or sexual assault shelter.
  • A private residence, unless you obtain permission from one of the adult residents.

Transporting a Handgun Through & Throughout AK

Whether you have a concealed carry permit or not, as long as you can legally possess a handgun you may transport a loaded handgun on your person (open or concealed) in a vehicle.

Additional Notes About AK Handgun Law

Does AK Law Incorporate Stand Your Ground?

Yes.

The Stand Your Ground law permits you to use force, and not retreat, when faced with a threat. Stand Your Ground protects your use of force, even deadly force, when used to protect yourself or others if you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death. To be protected under Stand Your Ground, you must be in a place where you have the lawful right to be.

Does AK Law Incorporate the Castle Doctrine?

Yes.

The Castle Doctrine is similar to Stand Your Ground. The Castle Doctrine permits you to use force (even deadly force), and not retreat, when you’re in your own home. This again assumes you reasonably believe there is an imminent threat of serious harm or death on yourself or others in your home.

This ‘castle’ is sometimes broadened to cover you when you’re in your yard, car, etc. Each state’s Castle Doctrine law is written differently – consult your state’s law to confirm if your state extends the meaning of a ‘castle’ to cover more than just your home.

Reciprocity – What State Permits Does AK Recognize?

ALL. AK honors every other states’ concealed carry permits. However, you must be 21 years old or older for your permit to be honored.

Reciprocity – Where is the AK Permit Recognized?

The AK concealed carry permit is recognized in the following states:

 

AK Concealed Carry Reciprocity

Subscribe to receive a notice when this page is updated. This will occur if, for instance, the concealed carry handgun law changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>